Best Family Vacation Beach in California

sunsetavila

You may already know that I am a California girl born and bred and I luv the beach! I wish I could live at the beach, any beach would do but for the past 30 years I have been visiting one beach in particular, Avila Beach, California. Hands down Avila Beach in the San Luis Obispo area gets my vote for best family beach.  Yesterday one of my favorite blogs, Believing in Something, asked where is your favorite place to vacation made me think of all those great trips to the coast and I wanted to share this tip with you. Thanks Sharlee 😉

Reason #1 Its Central Coast Cali so not as many tourist, not as crowded.

My middle son enjoying the surf circa 2007

My middle son enjoying the surf circa 2007

Along the waterfront there are a ton of adorable little shops!

Along the waterfront there are a ton of adorable little shops! 

See not crowded! I can’t say that it will always be this empty but if you have ever been to a southern Cali beach you know what crowded it and this is not that!

Reason #2 There is a great family hotel steps from the beach. The Inn at Avila Beach.

The Inn at Avila Beach

The Inn at Avila Beach

This is a fully renovated suites only hotel, some of the rooms even have kitchens.  They have an amazing rooftop sundeck, and a giant family lounge where you can have a family dinner and watch a movie. I have stayed here on several occassions at it so worth the price, comfortable, great area, nice staff… only thing missing for me is a pool or at least a spa, I like that for younger kids (the ocean can be dangerous) and those that don’t like the cold pacific ocean.

Reason #3 Location, Location, Location

Pic017

You have the option to stay in SLO or Pismo or any number of little towns along the coasts. I have stayed in all of them from Santa Barbara to Morro Bay and you can’t miss. There are tons of things to do, great places to eat for all tastes, and you will never be bored, there is something for everyone on a family trip to enjoy.

Reason #4 Sunshine

I sometimes have to stay in SLO or Pismo Beach and it might be overcast at Grover or Pismo but I know that if I go to Avila from 11:00 am to 5:00 pm there will be sunshine! Like magic the fog rolls out and then rolls back in signalling to all the day is over and its time for dinner and bed.

This sunshine factor is pretty much 365 days a year, ok of course it does rain but even then its a great place to visit.

avila pier

So if you are looking for a great place to visit and luv the beach as much as I do. Check our Avila Beach I promise you won’t regret it.

Enjoy Y’all

Lizz

My fav pic of me at my fav beach

My fav pic of me at my fav beach

Come on chime in...

