Crafting Amazing 3DArt

I was at the thrift store recently and they had this amazing selection of frames… cheap.  I didn’t pay more 50 cents for one of them!  I knew I could make something amazing!

I decided to try the first 2 with a 3d art project I had been thinking about and decided a boy and girl design would be perfect, that way I could play with them and see what I came up with.

First you want to remove the backs and glass, check them for loose corners and decide how you want to decorate them.  I had seen some great duct tape at the 99 Cent Only store so I had to try that.  On the other I had just cleaned my office and found a great gift bag and wanted to use it so there was my other design.

Rubber bands are a great way to secure a project when its an odd size while you repair it.

Rubber bands are a great way to secure a project when its an odd size while you repair it.

First I had to make repairs, and paint the corners and edges.

Fingernail polish is one of my fav mediums, and this one was a great color and finish.

Fingernail polish is one of my fav mediums, and this one was a great color and finish.

I got lucky the first cut on the duct tape and 12 squares was perfect to wrap the frame, but I would suggest that you measure circumference and blah, blah, blah, math is so boring, I just wing it, but whatever works best for you.  LOL

Duct tape comes in the best patterns and colors these days!

Duct tape comes in the best patterns and colors these days!

Paint the edges first.

Paint the edges first.

Cut out your pieces and glue in place or mod podge if you prefer.

Cut out your pieces and glue in place or mod podge if you prefer.

Letting it dry is the hardest part!

Letting it dry is the hardest part!

Now you are probably wondering how I decided what to put in the frames, well the girly one was easy, I was sitting on my couch and looked at my sconce with the flowers in it, and bam inspiration came! I had to wander the store aisles for the boy one; I knew I wanted a car since the duct tape was race inspired but to find the right one was a challenge. Luckily Walgreens had a great selection at only .89! I found the perfect retro racer and kept my project at a great price.

Secure the back (I also used a little Super Glue on this one since the car is heavy

Secure the back (I also used a little Super Glue on this one since the car is heavy

Glue works great depending on the weight of the object

I wasn’t as worried about this one since this frame still had the metal brackets attached.

And now the big reveal…

 

TA DAH!

I know a certain little boy is totally going to want this one.

I know a certain little boy is totally going to want this one.

I luv this add to my collage wall

I luv this add to my collage wall

3dart3So Grand Total – frames 1.00, Duct tape 1.00 (but I only used 1/4 of the roll), Car .89, I had the paint, gift bag, glue and flower so free 😉 and that makes 2 3D Art Projects under $3!! Plus what a great way to upcycle some ugly, old frames! As you can tell the project is super simple and could easily be done in a weekend less if you hot glue!

I am super happy with how they turned out and can’t wait to get started on the rest of the frames! Gifts for the rest of the year, check.

I definitely think this has earned me a Starbucks, have a great weekend.

Enjoy Y’all

Lizz

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Crafting Amazing 3DArt

Come on chime in...

