A bedroom for 2 or My British Colonial Tropical Hideaway

I was going to post something completely different today. I have been working on a project for my step kids using old boxes, food, cleaning products, beauty and hygiene but today I lost my inspiration.  Actually I got stuck.  I think it was from the morning of job hunting, another fruitless day 😦 Its so frustrating… anyone else in this predicament? I feel your pain and frustration.

So I did what any DIY, Design and Craft fanatic would do, I turned to Pinterest.  Only I didn’t work on the project at hand, I got sidetracked with this…

And this…

This is completely my style eclectic and cluttered with a british tropical flairhttp://oceaniaislandliving.com.au/2012/safari-seduction-of-a-british-colonial-past/

This is completely my style eclectic and cluttered with a british tropical flair
http://oceaniaislandliving.com.au/2012/safari-seduction-of-a-british-colonial-past/

And then I remembered this…

The King and I one on my favorite movies http://thebestpictureproject.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/the-king-and-i/

The King and I one on my favorite movies 

So I had to stop and watch this, which if you haven’t seen you definitely should, it’s a classic and really very good. You can’t help but be like Deborah Kerr and fall for the ever sexy, Yul Brynner.

Now I am obsessed with British Colonial Tropical Design more commonly referred to as British West Indies. I found a great interior design blog that gave this description…

“British Colonial – Spurred by the arrival of the British colonists in the West Indies, this style represents a combination of pared-down Victorian elegance with Caribbean tropical and animal motifs. Furniture usually consists of mahogany, dark walnut or teak combined with wicker, cane and leather insets.”

I like to think of it as more than that though, that’s why I call it British Colonial Tropical. Britain did invade and colonize a vast majority of the world and they started way before Ol’ Vic came to the throne. Catch up on the history here, (for a wiki page it’s quite complete and very well supported). For a look at more design ideas check out my new Pinterest page.

Here are the colors I am looking at (just please understand these are only colors I like not how I am going to use them).  😉

abedroomfortwo4

 

This is from the Benjamin Moore Paint a room creator tool, what a great tool to play with colors, you can even upload your own pic!

Here is what started it all…

I have had this poster of a beach in Thailand forever and luv the colors and the feeling of relaxation it has. Definitely the inspiration for the room idea.

I have had this poster of a beach in Thailand since the 80s and luv the colors and the feeling of relaxation it has. Definitely the inspiration for the room idea.

and a couple of pieces I already have…

I got this full size bed out of the dumpster area and have found a gentleman on ebay that sells parts to repair the missing pieces

I got this full size bed out of the dumpster area and have found a gentleman on Ebay that sells parts to repair the missing pieces

A eucalyptus branch that I want to add flowers to and use as an accent (and all my supply of extra flowers for crafting and decorating)

A eucalyptus branch that I want to add flowers to and use as an accent (and all my supply of extra flowers for crafting and decorating, a good crafter is kind of a hoarder)

I have had this dresser for years and want to paint it white then trim in a dull gold to match in inset on the top which I won't be changing

I have had this dresser for years and want to paint it white then trim in a dull gold to match the inset on the top which I won’t be changing, thanks BFF for that idea! 

My idea is something tropical, British, antique but in a modern home, and of course mixed with my usual eclectic twist. I imagine a room where once a British Colonial citizen lived, and with them they brought a stunning, classic piece of British history, that gets mixed with local pieces, then another member of the family had a nice art deco piece,  which gets married with a mid-century modern piece all jumbled together with personal decor of little finds from around the globe.  I want to mix antique wood, and painted furniture with wicker and cane pieces, upholstered comfort and that great free bed.  I need rich textiles and functional bedding.  Color, color, color is essential, it has always been the basis for all great design, find your inspiration and then grab your colors and let your imagination go.

I will be on the hunt for amazing furniture pieces to complete the room…

and a comfy upholstered chair and girly vanity to round out the roomhttp://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/decor/msg020633576389.html

and a comfy upholstered chair and girly vanity to round out the room
http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/decor/msg020633576389.html

The finished room needs to be girly but not too feminine so that BF feels comfortable. It needs to be thrifty of course, but thats never a problem for me, obviously I got my bed out of the dumpster! 😀

I am certain that with the aid of Pinterest, the internet, thrifting, yardsales, craigslist, my local dumpster (which has turned out to be a seriously awesome resource) and all my crafty abilities I can make this room a reality and can’t wait to share with all of you hopefully someday soon.

Until then I will be dreaming…

Enjoy Y’all

Lizz

 

Come on chime in...

