Amazing Everyday Waffles

I woke up this morning wanting to do something a little special for my BFs breakfast.  I pulled out my trusting bible, the red and white plaid BHG (Better Homes and Garden) cookbook. I was looking through trying to decide when my eye landed on my latest kitchen gadget, Waffles of course. I had only used it once when the step kids spent the night last time and I really want to master that thing. So Everyday Waffles it is!
My handy recipe board, and no I didn’t drink all that wine.
Now the recipe says everyday but no way would I be doing this everyday… separating eggs and whipping up whites is not something I would be able to accomplish at 7:00 am especially with little ones under foot.  Guess I was feeling a little Julia Child this morning, so here we go…
Everyday Waffles
1 3/4 c sifted flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 beaten egg yolks
1 3/4 c milk
1/2 c oil
2 stiffly beaten egg whites
Sift together dry ingredients.  Combine yolks, milk and oil. Mix dry and wet together.
Fold in whites, leaving fluffy.
Bake.
Well how long?  It didn’t say and since I bought my waffle iron second hand at one of my fav thrift stores I of course didn’t have a book.  The first time I used it I wasn’t watching the time just trying to keep the kids from terrorizing my cat, I would just have to eyeball it.
It was between 5 and 7 mins depending on the amount of batter I used.  I did remember not to use as much so it didn’t spill out everywhere and make a big mess.
 They were crispy outside and done inside (not fluffy enough) but not quite there yet but I’ll figure it out just give me time 😉 and BF luv’d them so that’s all that really mattered.

You could definitely make the batter the night before and store covered in frig, just hold off on the egg whites till you are ready to make them.  Another great make-ahead recipe.

Enjoy Ya’ll

Lizz

Come on chime in...

