A Simple Act of Kindness… Can it Really Change the World?

I had a completely different post for today… but once I got home from work and saw the latest news I just didn’t have it in me too finish.  Promise I will get back to it at a later date.

Today I would rather bring you this…  http://lifevestinside.com/

I wish to give you all a kinder planet

I wish to give you all a kinder planet

You may have seen this already, it has had 8,724,941 views on YouTube, more than 500,000 likes and shares on Facebook and who knows how many tweets.  Imagine if life was really like this? Each act portrayed in this video are only seconds long and most are free, simple to do… so why don’t we? Why don’t we help that child up, that elderly woman cross the street, give a stranger change, return something lost, buy food for a homeless person, seek to comfort others.  Why is it only in times of extreme distress that we think of others? Even then many are so caught up in their own safety, or self-absorption that they can’t reach out in kindness and aide to their fellow man.   Is it man’s nature to be selfish or is it a sign of the times? Has society become so calloused because of the way we live or has modern life (rush-rush, technology, violence in the media, greed, social media disconnect) made us calloused? Do most people even realize that we have changed so fundamentally?

I want to change this trend on our planet… I vow to be more kind, understanding, selfless to my fellow man.  I will do what I can when I can.  I know that I will slip but I will also succeed.

Will this actually change the world? Perhaps not, especially if it is just me, but then again if I don’t try, if no one tries then we will never know.  If everyone who sees this video vows to also try and be just a little nicer, kinder, understanding, selfless, then what?

If you aren’t part of the solution, then you are part of the problem.

Have a kind weekend Y’all.

Lizz

2 thoughts on “A Simple Act of Kindness… Can it Really Change the World?

  1. Pingback: An assignment I don’t want | A Year in the Life of PTSD

Come on chime in...

