Fruit Bread, another great make ahead breakfast!

delicious and nutritious, plus mix now and bake later, who could ask for more ;)

delicious and nutritious, plus mix now and bake later, who could ask for more 😉

This is a delicious, light bread that is great for breakfast, or dessert. Got this from the BHG New Cookbook, circa 1968, its an oldie but a goodie. I like to serve mine fresh from the oven with bacon.  For the rushed times we all have, I whip it up the night before, refrigerate then when I wake up pop it into the oven, go about getting ready and by the time I have had a cup of coffee, showered, dressed and hair/makeup done I have time to pop some pre-cooked bacon into the oven to warm while the bread finishes and viola… A nutritious and easy breakfast for all to enjoy.

For the fruit, choice is up to you, I usually add a can of fruit cocktail sans juice, orange slices, and chopped apple. Being able to play with the adds is one of my favorite things about this bread, it’s never the same twice, depending on what’s in season or what your mood is.  Nuts is another option for me if I add nuts then I will skip the side of meat and usually serve it as a dessert with ice cream or yogurt instead of for breakfast.  Try it both ways and let me know which you like best.

Hope you like it as much as my family does.

The Bible of Cooking at my house. While these seems like a cake its listed in the bread section.

The Bible of Cooking at my house. While these seems like a cake its listed in the bread section.

FruitBread1

 

Fruit Bread

2 c sifted flour

3/4 c sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 beaten eggs

1 c milk

3 tbs oil

fruit of choice

lemon zest

nuts of choice

Preheat Oven 350 degrees

FruitBread3

 

FruitBread4

 

Sift together dry ingredients, combine eggs, milk and oil; add to flour mixture, beating well.

 

FruitBread5

 

Add in fruit and nuts if desired.

 

FruitBread6

 

Add lemon zest.

 

FruitBread7

 

Turn into greased 9x5x3 loaf pan. Bake 50 mins or till toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Store leftovers in the frig.

 

FruitBread

 

Enjoy Y’all

Lizz

Come on chime in...

